Newbie, and unsure of what car I officially own.

Discussion in 'VW Mk4 Jetta, Golf, New Beetle, Passat TDI forum' started by jimbokid, Nov 29, 2017.

1. jimbokid

jimbokid New Member

Car:
    2006 jetta tdi gls
    Hi everyone, I'm a happy owner of a 2006 jetta tdi gls wagon. Well that's what the ownership says. First off, I'm absolutely wowed by the fuel economy of this vehicle. I live in Ontario Canada, so you will have to forgive me, but I average between 18.5-19.5 kms /litre. Works out to about 45 miles/us gallon, I believe. Just awesome. I bought the car in an auction, and aside from a few minor issues, its performed great. Can't say I'm a fan of VW (the company) but the car is awesome. I'm no stranger to diesels, I own a 2004 Ford f250 6.0, my most recent project with that one was replacing head gaskets. I'm not a mechanic by any means, I buy the shop manuals and go from there. There is enormous info out there, so far it seems more for the ford than VW.

This week I'm changing the timing belt, water pump on the jetta. Which brings me to my puzzelment of what kind of car do I own. Most parts I've purchased for the vehicle have been 2005, golf seems to be a good fit. When I google my vehicle, 06 tdi gls wagon, they don't seem to make them. I've gone on a VW site to breakdown my vin, jetta doesn't come up. Though that varies. Oil filter, bearings, 05 for sure. Car was manufactured in june 06. I believe the clutch kit I bought from rockauto was an 05 sachs (?). I was glad that the 05 and 06 timing belt kits were the same for both years. I've watched some mark 4 vids, yup my car, but those engines were 1.8's. I've watched some mark 5 vids, nope not my car, but they were 1.9s. So I'm thinking what I have is a mk 4 with a 1.9. Is that possible?