Help with DPF dpf particulate filter - VCDS output included - engine in Limp mode

Discussion in 'Audi TDI forums' started by Rick_C, Sep 24, 2016.

  1. Rick_C

    Rick_C New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Car:
    Audi TT TDI 8J
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hello,

    Hoping I can get some advice.

    I have a 2008 audi tt TDI 2.0 8J CBBB

    The engine is in limp mode, glow plug light flashing and DPF warning on.

    I have tried to do a regen via the VCDS software but I think the values are too high for it to be done? What are my options or does it need to be replaced? I also noticed you can get DPF cleaner and remove the sensor and flush it?

    The readings are attached and also here:

    Saturday,24,September,2016,12:58:51:04550
    VCDS -- Windows Based VAG/VAS Emulator Running on Windows 7 x64(VMWare)
    VCDS Version 15.7.0.2
    Data version: 20150820
    www.Ross-Tech.com

    Mileage: 76040km-47249mi Repair Order:

    Long Adaptation Channel 013:
    Stored value 0
    Test value 1
    Regeneration for Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) while Driving
    48 ml Particle Filter Oil Ash Volume
    26.7 Particle Filter Carbon Mass (spec.)
    45.3 Particle Filter Carbon Mass (meas.)
    20 km Mileage since last Regeneration

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Saturday,24,September,2016,13:09:03:04550
    VCDS Version Release 15.7.0 Running on Windows 7 x64(VMWare)
    www.Ross-Tech.com

    Address 01: Engine Labels: 03L-906-022-CBA.CLB
    Control Module Part Number: 03L 906 022 DH HW: 03L 906 022 BQ
    Component and/or Version: R4 2,0L EDC 0000SG 3133
    Software Coding: 0000172
    Work Shop Code: WSC 18771 935 591558
    VCID: 6EC7EE5FE097F072FD2C68D-803B
    2 Faults Found:

    009263 - Diesel Particulate Filter (Bank 1)
    P242F - 000 - Restricted/Clogged - MIL ON
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 11100000
    Fault Priority: 2
    Fault Frequency: 13
    Reset counter: 255
    Mileage: 76036 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2016.08.09
    Time: 03:15:41

    Freeze Frame:
    RPM: 2139 /min
    Speed: 0.0 km/h
    Pressure: 162 mbar
    Hex Value: 0xFF04
    Temperature: 78.0°C
    (no units): 66.3
    Mileage: 20 km

    009571 - Turbocharger Boost Control Position Sensor Circuit
    P2563 - 000 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 00100000
    Fault Priority: 2
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 255
    Mileage: 76038 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2016.08.09
    Time: 21:33:53

    Freeze Frame:
    RPM: 828 /min
    Speed: 0.0 km/h
    Voltage: 13.76 V
    Lambda: 86.8 %
    Lambda: -19.7 %
    Bin. Bits: 00001110
    Voltage: 1.748 V


    Readiness: 1 1 0 0 1

    Any advice would be great!

    Thanks,

    Rick
     

    Attached Files:

    • dpf.JPG
      dpf.JPG
      File size:
      45.2 KB
      Views:
      5
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2016
    login to remove this ad
  2. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6,905
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England
    I notice your running 6 versions behind the current one, but that won't help your problem. That's unusual because VCDS won't run older version. VCDS Release 16.8.1
     
  3. aoleks

    aoleks New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Car:
    Audi A4 B8 2008 2.0 TDI CR
    Location:
    London, UK
    Looking at your mileage (47k), there's clearly something wrong, unless you drive in heavy traffic all day, every day. I'm on 125k miles with the original DPF and the measured value is 8 grams. The turbo related error might be a hint too, since a turbo that's not running properly can cause inefficient burning and quicker clogging of the DPF.

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/18995/P2563/009571

    Here is a link with your turbo related error. See what you can do and once you fixed that, use Wynn's DPF cleaner and take the car for a nice, long motorway ride, but don't go higher than 4th gear.
     
  4. Rick_C

    Rick_C New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Car:
    Audi TT TDI 8J
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hello,

    Thanks for that, I contacted the fleabay seller and he said not to update it after you sent me that post?! Sounds dodge to me!

    I had a replacement engine fitted, the old one dumped a load of oil in to it I have been told.

    I managed to get this sorted by Dean @ Autodeutsch Manchester, UK , he was very helpful and managed to get the car doing a standing regen he spent some time with the car and did it for £50 so all sorted,

    thanks again.

    Rick
     
    Magnus likes this.
  5. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6,905
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England
    That's because you have a pirate cable. They must have done an update as the older pirate cables could only use v12.
     
  6. Rick_C

    Rick_C New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Car:
    Audi TT TDI 8J
    Location:
    London, UK
    That does not sound good to me! It was listed as 15.7 HEX-CAN Diagnostic cable 2016
     
  7. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6,905
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England
    What was the price?
     
  8. Rick_C

    Rick_C New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Car:
    Audi TT TDI 8J
    Location:
    London, UK

Share This Page