cluster replacement

Discussion in 'VW Mk4 Jetta, Golf, New Beetle, Passat TDI forum' started by B4Ugo, Oct 5, 2017.

  1. B4Ugo

    B4Ugo New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Car:
    2005 Passat TDi, 2006 Golf PD, 1996 B4 1Z
    Location:
    Salmon Arm, BC
    Mods:
    A little of this, a little of that
    I just picked up a 2003 B5.5 V6 gasser with a "bricked" cluster.
    I have a parts Passat. I took the cluster out and installed it.
    It works well with no codes from auto-scan, but of course immobilizer is activated…
    I also have the key from the parts car that contains the RFID chip that matches the cluster I just installed.
    My question is: what needs to be done to get matching cluster/chip to work with existing ECU?
    Will the RFID communicate with the cluster and give the thumbs up to the ECU? Or does the ecu need to see the exact confirmation from old cluster/chip?
     
  2. B4Ugo

    B4Ugo New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Car:
    2005 Passat TDi, 2006 Golf PD, 1996 B4 1Z
    Location:
    Salmon Arm, BC
    Mods:
    A little of this, a little of that
    Guess I'll just get Malone to do immobilizer delete..
     
  3. Seatman

    Seatman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,821
    Car:
    2000 Mk4 Golf Estate 1.9tdi 174 bhp
    Location:
    Scotland
    Mods:
    PP764's, turbo and mapping
    Did you look in the diy pages? Not sure how much info is in there but worth checking. Need to pull the immo pin from the old cluster and the new one to code the new one in then program the keys as per ross techs instructions.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 8, 2017
  4. B4Ugo

    B4Ugo New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Car:
    2005 Passat TDi, 2006 Golf PD, 1996 B4 1Z
    Location:
    Salmon Arm, BC
    Mods:
    A little of this, a little of that
    Yes, I did. But cluster is bricked, so no pin.
    ECU is in the mail to Malone.
     
  5. B4Ugo

    B4Ugo New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Car:
    2005 Passat TDi, 2006 Golf PD, 1996 B4 1Z
    Location:
    Salmon Arm, BC
    Mods:
    A little of this, a little of that
    Ok so Malone did immo delete and sent the ECU back.
    I reinstalled it and fired up the car.
    Car ran beautifully...for 3 sec.
    Then it shut off and immobilizer MIL is flashing, and display in message centre reads: IMMOBILIZER ACTIVATED!
    Buzzer going crazy too.
    So it's acting exactly like it would without RFID or non-matching cluster/ECU.
    Scanned for codes and there were none.
    Why would immo activate if it's been deleted in the ECU?
    My understanding was that after the reflash, the ECU would no longer look for confirmation from cluster that the chip/cluster match.
    I'm perplexed
     
  6. Seatman

    Seatman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,821
    Car:
    2000 Mk4 Golf Estate 1.9tdi 174 bhp
    Location:
    Scotland
    Mods:
    PP764's, turbo and mapping
    Speak to Malone, see if he can shed any light on it. My guess would be the immo delete didn't upload to the ecu properly. Like sometimes when loading a map it can take a couple of tries.
     
  7. B4Ugo

    B4Ugo New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Car:
    2005 Passat TDi, 2006 Golf PD, 1996 B4 1Z
    Location:
    Salmon Arm, BC
    Mods:
    A little of this, a little of that
    It's back at Malone now. They say it appears the immo delete uploaded. Thats why I'm Perplexed...
    They're going to check a few other things....
     

Share This Page