2.0 CBAB 140 headache!!

Discussion in 'Mk5 VW Jetta, Sportwagen, and Audi A3 TDI forum' started by Jam666, Jun 28, 2016.

  1. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    Hi
    I've recently replaced the engine in my 2009 2.0 A3 due to last owner seizing the engine, but I cannot get the new engine to fire up. I have swapped all the fuel system ie injectors, fuel rail and pipes etc to the new engine.
    I have run the pumps several times via VCDS and there is pure diesel flowing through the return from the HPFP to the fuel filter.
    There are no fault codes stored, but I have noticed in data log 17 that the actual rail pressure is fluctuating between 8.0 bar and 0.0 bar.
    Can anyone help me as I'm really running out of patients!

    Thanks in advance
    Jamie
     
    login to remove this ad
  2. chittychittybangbang

    chittychittybangbang Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    23,734
    Car:
    2006 Jetta TDI
    Location:
    CT
    What maintenance did this engine have? Check the timing.

    Try checking the return bleed off valve on the fuel rail - perhaps it's not holding pressure?

    Does it sound like it's not getting fuel or is it sputtering?
     
  3. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    Thanks for the reply chitty.
    I was told that the replacement engine had 29k miles on it.

    As far as I can see there is no bleed valve on the cr (common rail) engine.
    I took the return pipe from the HPFP to the fuel filter which is also linked to the injector leak off. And ran both the pumps to get all the air out until pure diesel came out.

    It is turning over but not firing at all.

    Many thanks
     
  4. chittychittybangbang

    chittychittybangbang Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    23,734
    Car:
    2006 Jetta TDI
    Location:
    CT
    Check the timing belt, it could be off. Could also be some sensor unplugged which, for whatever reason, isn't throwing a code (although they should)
     
    Jam666 likes this.
  5. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    As soon as the weather is on my side I will be checking the timing. Thanks
     
  6. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    Had an hour on the car today.
    Primed both pumps manually for a good half hour, still nothing.
    Then I decided to spray some diesel cleaner into the intake, and finally she tried to fire!

    Now I have been using a delphi diagnostics in the past with this car, but now it won't connect and is saying 'VCI NOT FOUND' tried it on my old audi and it will connect no problem.
    Borrowed another handheld diagnostics machine and the damn thing won't connect either.
    I'm wondering if there is a relay or a fuse or something or anything else that will stop the machines from connecting.
    Any help would be great
    Thanks
     
  7. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    Also the only sensor that was left on the original engine is the one on top of the high pressure fuel pump. I'm wondering if this is coded?
     
  8. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    Sorry forgot to say timing has been checked and is all good. Been over every single sensor at least 5 times and everything is plugged in
     
  9. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    Getting close to torching the damn thing soon
     
  10. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    Finally managed to get a scan with vcds.. and it came up with the following codes attached in the pictures.
    Any help on how to investigate this further would be much appreciated
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
  12. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    6,771
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England
    All those codes apart from 16346 are in my Free EOBD II Error Codes software

    There are a lot of additions to my new app.

    VAG Error Code: 16346


    Fault Location:
    Control Module (ROM Error) - Faulty/Defective

    Possible Cause:
    Unexpected Malfunctions.
    Control Module is defective.

    Checksum Error.
    Incorrect Firmware Installed.

    Possible Solutions:
    Check/Update Control Module Firmware.
    Reset the fault.
    Key from the ignition, wait 10 minutes, read again.
    Reset the control module to default.
    Check (Measuring Value Blocks)/Replace Control Module.
    It may be that a control module chokes at a given moment, and is now "in another language" below. What you could try is resetting the unit so that he learns the language again to communicate. Try:
    Remove all error codes and turn off the ignition.
    Disconnect the negative terminal of the battery, then disconnect the positive terminal of the battery and attach the battery negative (this sequence to avoid damage to the electronics persist).
    Leave the car standing for an hour or 12.
    Disconnect the negative terminal, acknowledge the positive terminal and attach the negative (this sequence to avoid damage to the electronics persist).
    All stored values are now gone and the Rule Modules must again "learn" each other to communicate. After this action disappeared the state of your trip meter [so write when you find that important] and the settings of your radio/CD/DVD are also reset [ie to perform the action first check all the codes you reach and operation manuals have the hand].
     
  13. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    Thanks Keith that's a great help!
    Would you say this is the code giving me my non start/no fuel?
     
  14. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    Right I sent the clocks away to be fixed, fitted them and the car is still refusing to start!!
    Scanned again and the only code coming up is still 16346 rom error.
    If anyone can give me any help it would be much appreciated
    Thanks
     
  15. demonair

    demonair New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Car:
    VW Mk5 jetta
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Mods:
    Bluetooth, RNS 510, headlights, photo chromatic mirror, etc.
  16. Jam666

    Jam666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Car:
    A3 tdi black edition
    Location:
    South wales
    Hi sorry for the late reply but the link doesn't work for me.. my car is still in the same boat due to illness. The car is obviously not fueling so I would like some pointers for the process of elimination.
    how would I go about testing the fuel pressure manually on these motors? I suppose I would have to test at each point after lift pump, after auxiliary pump? Rail and injectors?
    Thank you in advance
     
  17. dieselherb1

    dieselherb1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Car:
    96,2 97Passats,98,2000 Jettas,3 81 Rabbit pickups, 95 Chevy pickup diesel
    I had a no start situation after swapping injection pump. Turned out something was holding the pressure valve open in the pump head. Replaced that primed pump started up. Andrew in Canada lead me to the solution.
     

Share This Page